Shaw Lab

People

Shaw Lab

Reuben Shaw

Reuben Shaw
Professor
William R. Brody Chair
shaw@salk.edu
[CV]

Click here for Salk faculty website»

Reuben grew up in rural upstate New York, went to Cornell for undergraduate school where he did his thesis work with Rick Cerione. He then went to MIT for graduate school and did his PhD work in Tyler Jacks' lab at the MIT Cancer Center where he focused on neurofibromatosis. Reuben did his postdoctoral work across the river at Harvard Medical School with Lew Cantley. The rest is in the screenplay.

Sonja Brun Sonja Brun
Research Associate
sbrun@salk.edu
Coming soon.
Stephanie Curtis Stephanie Curtis
Graduate Student
scurtis@salk.edu
Coming soon.
Lillian Eichner Lillian Eichner
Research Associate
leichner@salk.edu
Lilly obtained her bachelor's degree in Chemistry from Northwestern University in Illinois, after which she worked as a research associate at the Institute for Systems Biology back in her hometown, Seattle. She received her Ph.D. from McGill University in Montréal, Canada, where she studied the role of the PGC-1/Estrogen-Related Receptor pathway in the regulation of cancer metabolism in the lab of Dr. Vincent Giguère. She continues to study cancer metabolism, and its intersection with epigenetic modifiers, as a post-doc in the Shaw lab.
Eleanor Fiedler
Research Associate
efiedler@salk.edu
Coming soon.
Hector Galvez Hector Galvez
Graduate Student
hgalvez@salk.edu
Coming soon.
Daniel Garcia Daniel Garcia
Research Associate
dgarcia@salk.edu

Daniel grew up in a small town in central Mexico. He got his B.S. degree from UC San Diego and then completed his Ph.D. at UC San Francisco in Gerard Evan's lab, where he worked on p53 restoration in tumors and also on establishing a novel mouse model for E2F regulation. He joined the Shaw lab as a postdoc in 2011. He studies the effects of LKB1-AMPK pathway reactivation in tumors.

Tina Hellberg

Tina Hellberg
Research Associate
khellberg@salk.edu

Tina grew up in Karlskoga, Sweden. She obtained a M.Sc. in Chemical Biology from Linköping University, Sweden, and subsequently moved to Minneapolis to start graduate school at University of Minnesota. Her graduate work in the lab of Dr. David Bernlohr focused on inflammatory lipids in adipose biology. After completing her Ph.D. she joined the Shaw lab as a postdoc in 2013 to characterize downstream targets of AMPK signaling involved in liver metabolism.

Sébastien Herzig

Sébastien Herzig
Research Associate
sherzig@salk.edu

Coming soon.

Pablo Hollstein Pablo Hollstein
Research Associate
phollstein@salk.edu
Coming soon.
Chien-Min Hung

Chien-Min Hung
Research Associate
chung@salk.edu

Coming soon.

Amanda Hutchins Amanda Hutchins
Research Assistant
ahutchins@salk.edu
Amanda grew up in rural New Hampshire. She then received her B.S. in Zoology from the University of New Hampshire. Soon after she moved to Boston and worked for the David Sabatini managing the mouse colony. In 2013, Amanda joined the Shaw Lab as a research technician, working mainly with mice.
Anwesh Kamireddy Anwesh Kamireddy
Graduate Student
akamireddy@salk.edu
Coming soon.
Portia Lombardo

Portia Lombardo
Graduate Student
plombardo@salk.edu

Portia received her bachelor's degree in Biophysical Chemistry from Dartmouth College, where she conducted her first LKB1/AMPK-pathway research in the laboratory of Dr. Lee Witters. Following graduation, she focused on cancer lipid metabolism in Dr. William Kinlaw's lab at the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, before joining the Biology graduate program at UCSD. She returned to the LKB1/AMPK pathway when she joined the Shaw lab in 2011, where she is currently dissecting the mammalian autophagy signaling network.

Debbie Ross

Debbie Ross
Research Assistant
dross@salk.edu

The Mouse Whisperer

Ben Stein

Ben Stein
Research Associate
bstein@salk.edu

Coming soon.

Rob Svensson

Rob Svensson
Research Associate
rsvensson@salk.edu

Originally from England, Rob's interest in research led him across the pond to pursue his PhD in Molecular Physiology and Biophysics at the University of Iowa. His PhD studies in the lab of Michael Henry focused on mouse models of prostate cancer progression and therapy. After developing an interest in cancer metabolism, Rob joined the Shaw lab as a post-doc in the summer of 2011. His projects involve understanding the tumor suppressor functions of LKB1 in mouse models of lung cancer and whether environmental factors such as diet and exercise that modulate LKB1 signaling might also contribute to tumorigenesis.

Erin Toyama

Erin Toyama
Research Associate
etoyama@salk.edu

Erin graduated from UC San Diego with a B.S. in Molecular Biology in 2003.  She then moved to San Francisco, where she studied protein quality control in Saccharomyces cerevisae in Jonathan Weissman’s lab at UCSF.  In 2009, Erin earned her Ph.D. in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and decided to explore a new scientific direction.  She subsequently joined the Shaw lab as a postdoctoral fellow and is interested in finding novel substrates of AMPK and dissecting their biochemical and biological function.

Jeanine Van Nostrand Jeanine Van Nostrand
Research Associate
jvannostrand@salk.edu
Jeanine grew up in rural Nebraska and went to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln for undergraduate school where she did her thesis work with Julie Stone. She then went to Stanford for graduate school in Cancer Biology where she did her PhD work in Laura Attardi’s lab, where she studied the role of p53 and p53 target genes in Embryogenesis and Cancer. She joined the Shaw lab in the summer of 2014 and is interested in exploring the in vivo role of AMPK-regulation using mouse models.
Liliana (Lili) Vera Liliana (Lili) Vera
Research Associate
lvera@salk.edu
Coming soon.

Shaw Lab Alumni

Matthew Chun

Dan Egan
Postdoctoral Fellow
Dana Farber Cancer Institute
Harvard Medical School

Jonathan Goodwin

Bibiana Ferreira

Laurie Gerken

Dana Gwinn
Postdoctoral Fellow
Stanford University

Jung-whan (Jay) Kim
Assistant Professor
University of Texas

Rebecca Kohnz
Postdoctoral Fellow
UC Berkeley

Annabelle Mery
Postdoctoral Fellow
Paris

Maria Mihaylova
Postdoctoral Fellow
MIT

Katrin Schule
Masters Student
Goethe-University, Frankfurt

David Shackleford
Assistant Professor
University of California, Los Angeles

Pierre-Damien Denechud
Postdoctoral Fellow
University of Montpelier, France

Nathan Young

 

 

© 2012 Salk Institute for Biological Studies
10010 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, CA 92037 | 858.453.4100 | webmaster@salk.edu